Open Fri, Sat, Sun & Mon Public Holidays

Standard Trading Hours

FRI 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
SAT/SUN 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Special Opening Times

Mon 23 Dec 2019 Open 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue 24 Dec 2019 Open 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wed 25 Dec 2019 CLOSED
Thu 26 Dec 2019 CLOSED
Fri 27 Dec 2019 Open 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

View All Trading Hours

Get Directions

Our Vision

To be Western Australia's premier market experience that is loved by tourists and locals.

What We Offer

Fresh Local Produce
Indigenous & Independent Products
Music & Atmosphere
Unique Food Offerings

Our History

Established 1897


It's amazing to think that when the Fremantle Market Hall first opened, visitors would arrive by horse and cart!

The grand old Victorian building was designed by architects H.J.Eales and Charles Oldham. Sir John Forrest, the Premier of Western Australia, laid the foundation stone on Saturday November 6 1897, with construction finishing in 1898 at a cost of £8268.

This building is one of only two surviving municipal market buildings in Western Australia, and one of the few in Australia that continues to be used for its original purpose.


Located in the corner of the Fremantle Market building between the Yard and Parry Street entrances is the Caretaker’s Cottage. This old Cottage is located where the toilets and office are now, comprising of three rooms at present. Originally built in 1911 in one of the Warehouse Stores as a four-roomed weatherboard cottage that had two bedrooms, a dining/lounge room and a kitchen. Its interior is largely intact today.


The service yard along with the stables fell into disuse as motor vehicles replaced horses as the primary means of transportation. Australia had grown up along with the market. The stables were demolished as a Timber Cool Store in this period and remained so until Fremantle Markets was refurbished in the 1970s.


The building functioned as a wholesale food and produce market until the 1950's and would no doubt have been an eclectic mix of fresh produce, reflective of the many migrants who flocked to the Port City of Fremantle.


The building eventually became a packing and distribution centre until the early 1970's before undergoing a complete restoration in 1975 by the Fremantle City Council. The Fremantle Markets was officially added to the Register of Heritage Places in November of that year.

The precinct, which includes the Sail & Anchor Hotel, the Norfolk Hotel, the Warders Cottages and Scots Church, is also listed on the Commonwealth Government's Heritage Commission Registrar of the National Estate.


When the refurbished Fremantle Markets was reopened on 31 October 1975, there was a significant addition that continues to be one of its most popular attractions: Farmer’s Lane. This area to the rear of the market’s building because the site where fruit and vegetables were sold. It was not until 1993 however, that the permanent building to ‘Farmer’s Lane’ was completed, designed by Brian Klopper. The building was awarded a Royal Australia Institute of Architecture Commendation in the same year


Step inside the Fremantle Markets and enjoy the distinctive atmosphere of over a hundred years of vibrant culture and heritage. Listen carefully and you just might hear the horse and carts of yesteryear, arriving at the markets full to the brim of fresh fruit and vegetables.

Now boasting over 150 stalls, each as unique as the next, the Fremantle Markets are a must-see for locals and tourists alike.